HEA Committees 2020-2021

An important indicator of a strong union is an engaged and active membership.

HEA Committees are critical to advancing the voice, power, and professional advocacy of our members. Members of these committees are appointed by the HEA President. Current HEA Committees are listed below in approximate order of the most time commitment to the least time commitment.

  • HEA Bargaining Team - This team meets with representatives of HSD to negotiate our contract or Collective Bargaining Agreement.
    • 2020-2021 HEA members: Thara Cooper (Bargaining Chair), Elizabeth Beck (WEA UniServ Rep.), Jeb Binns, Rich Coker, Richard Dunn, Veronica Fairchild, Julie Maheiu, Claudia Conroy, OPEN (Elementary Teacher), Edissa Jaramillo. Read their bios here.
    • HSD members: Buzz Porter, Chris Larsen, Pete Misner, Maggie Heater, Tremain Holloway, Lisa Escobar, Colin Ryan, Mike Fosberg, Andrew Burgess
  • HEA Bargaining Support Team (BST) - Each worksite needs a small team, including a BST Worksite Lead, to keep every member engaged and informed about the bargaining process and what members can do to support the HEA Bargaining Team.
    • 2020-21 members: Sandy Hunt (Co-Chair), Katie Utesch (Co-Chair)
    • Contact the Co-Chairs for more information 
  • HEA Membership Committee - This committee works to ensure that everyone who is eligible to become an HEA member is invited to do so. They also connect HEA members to issues they are passionate about and want to engage with.  Members of this committee can also focus in on subsets of our membership to increase engagement within those groups; examples include guest teachers, early career educators, dual language teachers, educators of color, special education staff.
    • 2020-21 members: Debby Strayer (Guest Teacher Chair), Brandice Tranholt (New Members Chair)
    • Contact the chairs for more information 
  • HEA Community Coalitions Committee - The Community Coalitions Committee will support HEA members, the Representative Council, and the Executive Board reach out to community partners with the goal of developing authentic and impactful relationships both within and outside the district. Responsibilities include reviewing and making recommendations to the Finance Committee and Rep Council on expenditure requests from our Community Outreach Funds.
    • 2020-21 members: Christian Tautua (Chair), Rupika Madhaven
    • Contact the chair for more information
  • HEA WEA PAC/Political Action Team - This team works to ensure that every member of HEA has been invited to join WEA PAC, WEA's Political Action Committee - which works to ensure that pro-public-education candidates are elected to state office. The team also helps support pro-public education lobbying efforts in the WA State Legislature and US Congress.
    • 2020-21 members: Leslie Sokolik (Chair) 
    • Contact the chair for more information
  • HEA Elections Committee - This committee facilitates the nominations and elections process for HEA elections, including communicating about open positions and the voting process, as well as certifying the elections. Members of this committee cannot run for elected HEA positions while they serve on the committee.
    • 2020-21 members: Julie Kastien (Chair), Debby Strayer 
    • Contact the chair for more information 
  • HEA Governing Documents Review Task Force - This task force will be charged with conducting a review of HEA's governing documents. A particular area of focus for this team will be working to ensure that both the language and policies within the documents are inclusive and reflect the current needs of our members.
    • 2020-21 members: Sandy Hunt (Chair), Rich Coker, Adam Even Engle, Leslie Sokolik, Debby Strayer, Sarah Robertson, Liz Smith
    • Contact the chair for more information
  • HEA Finance Committee - The finance committee meets monthly to conduct a review of the accounts held by HEA in preparation for a report to the executive board and representative council.  
    In addition, annually, the committee reviews the state of the current financial accounts and makes a recommendation for the upcoming fiscal year budget in light of HEA priorities. This will include making any recommendation for revenue increases for the HEA.
    • 2020-21 members: Jeb Binns (Chair), Christian Tautua,Veronica Fairchild, Sue McCabe, Debbie Strayer  
    • Contact the chair for more information

Again, if you are interested in being more involved in union work by being appointed to a committee, please contact Sandy Hunt, HEA President.